Pharmasave U20 Provincial Championship Recap

The 2024 Pharmasave Junior Provincials took place at the Twin Rivers Curling Club in North Battleford SK on February 22-25, 2024.

Women’s Team Rosters:

Team Beausoleil: skip Ava Beausoleil, third Savanna Taylor, second Annika Steckler, lead Leah Beausoleil, coach James Malainey – Nutana Curling Club

Team Fradette: skip Heidi Fradette, third Kali Johnson, second Amy Fradette, lead April McMillen, alternate Olivia Fonstad, coach Pauline Ziehl Grimsrud – Estevan Curling Club

Team Johnston: skip Chloe Johnston, third Chantel Hoag, second Cara Kesslering, lead Madison Sagert, coach Ashley Howard – Callie Curling Club

Team Kessel: skip Elizabeth Kessel, third Lydia Zukewich, second Erika Oakes, lead Sarah Oakes, alternate Kaylee Rosenfelt, coach Brian Champion – Watrous Curling Club

Team Pomedli:  skip Jenna Pomedli, third Melissa Remeshylo, second Kelsey Noyes, lead Kylie Willms, coach Verne Anderson – Nutana Curling Club

Team Rugg: skip Hannah Rugg, third Mya Silversides, second Tesa Silversides, lead Claudia Lacell, coach Garnet Zummack – Highland Curling Club

Team Schlechter: skip Raechel Schlechter, third Kaydence Lalonde, second Aryn Thibault, lead Kya Ladouceur, coach Martin Ladouceur – Highland Curling Club

Team Semeniuk: skip Chloe Semeniuk, third Julianna Millard, second Jenna Wiebe, lead Lindsay Miller, coach Michael McDonald – Twin Rivers Curling Club

Team Simpson: skip Shawna Simpson, third Lauren Speidel, second Makena Bailey, lead Katelyn Speidel, coach Gaylene Simpson – Highland Curling Club

Team Todd: skip Andra Todd, third Tessa Todd, second Brooklyn Schell, lead Allyssa Svenson, coach Tarryl Todd – Swift Current Curling Club

Team Wood: skip Renee Wood, third Edie Jardine, second Winnie Morin, lead Rachel Vogelsang, alternate Amelia Whiting, coach Tim Jardine – Martensville Curling Club

Men’s Team Rosters:

Team Derksen: skip Dylan Derksen, third Logan Sawicki, second Tyler Derksen, lead Gavin Martens, coach Brad Kennedy – Martensville Curling Club

Team Drewitz: skip Matthew Drewitz, third Michael Hom, second Brayden Heistad, lead Jared Tessier, coach Dale Neufeld – Nutana Curling Club

Team Heisler: skip Dayne Heisler, third Blake Montgomery, second Riley Cushway, lead Laine Burnham, coach Rod Montgomery – Moose Jaw Curling Center

Team Jones: skip Ethan Jones, third Andrew Moulding, second Ryder Helmeczi, lead Lui Gustafson, coach Stacy Lloyd – Callie Curling Club

Team Snow: skip Rogan Snow, third Nathan Roy, second Brandon Henbury, lead Josh Lussier, coach Richard Roy

Team Zuravloff: skip Lane Zuravloff, third Carter Parenteau, second Brody Harrison, lead Ethan Rugg, coach Kent Zuravloff – Yorkton Curling Club




The men’s event was a full round-robin with 3 teams qualifying for playoffs. After the round robin play, there was 3 teams with a 3-1 record. Based on their head-to-head record, Team Drewitz and Team Derksen played in the 1vs2 game with the winner going straight to the final and the loser playing Team Zuravloff in the semi-final on Sunday morning. Team Drewitz defeated Team Derksen 8-5 in the 1vs2 game and moved on to Sunday’s final. In the semi-final, Team Derksen defeated Team Zuravloff 7-3 to book their spot in the final. Team Drewitz defeated Team Derksen 8-2 and secured their undefeated Championship win.

Due to Saskatchewan’s performance at the last few U20 National Championships, Saskatchewan has been given another berth in the men’s division to represent Team Saskatchewan #2 at the National Championship. Congratulations to Team Derksen on making the final and being named Team SK2.

On the women’s side, it was a triple knockout with 4 teams qualifying for the playoff round. Team Pomedli came out of the A event, Team Beausoleil came out of the B event, and Team Johnson and Team Rugg came out of the C event. In the playoff round, it was Team Pomedli who won the 1v2 game to secure their spot in Sunday’s final. Team Beausoleil defeated Team Johnson 10-6 in the semi-final to secure their spot in the final against Team Pomedli once again. It was Team Pomedli who defeated Team Beausoleil 7-4 to secure their undefeated Championship win!

Team Saskatchewan will head to the 2024 New Holland U20 Canadian Championships in Fort McMurray, Alberta on March 24-31!


Congratulations to the Pharmasave U20 All-Stars and the Asham Coaching Award Recipients:


Men’s All-Star Team:

Skip: Matthew Drewitz

Third: Carter Parenteau

Second: Tyler Derksen

Lead: Gavin Martens

Coach: Dale Neufeld

These awards are voted on by the players and coaches and presented to a player at each position who exemplifies outstanding play, shot-making, and sportsmanship. Congratulations to all!