2024 Masters Provincials Recap


The 2024 Men’s and Women’s Masters Provincials took place on February 8-11 in a newly affiliated CURLSASK Member Club the Lloydminster Curling Club! There was 10 women’s teams and 10 men’s teams who hit the ice to compete to claim the Provincial Title!

Men’s Team Rosters:

Team Barber: skip Don Baber, third Gord Bell, second Tim McMahon, lead Gord Fritzler (Callie Curling Club)

Team Fell: skip Lloyd Fell, third Brent Franko, second Murray Sunderland, lead Loyd Olsen (Unity Curling Club)

Team Flasch: skip Doug Flasch, third Stewart Mitchell, second Barry Flichel, lead Garry Flichel (Twin Rivers Curling Club)

Team Hritzuk: skip Eugene Hritzuk, third Dale Kohlenberg, second Verne Anderson, lead Dave Pochylko (Nutana Curling Club)

Team Humble: skip Brian Humble, third Terry Hersikorn, second Greg Kunz, lead Kerry Tarasoff (Sutherland Curling Club)

Team Lane: skip Mark Lane, third Dan Kennedy, second Mike Finney (Nutana Curling Club)

Team Quintin: skip Rod Quintin, third Jonah Sweatman, second Jeff Slade, lead Brian Benko (Sutherland Curling Club)

Team Scheible: skip Wayne Scheible, third Brian Welford, second Lornw Voinorosky, lead Wayne Cubbon (Twin Rivers Curling Club)

Team Scholz: (Lloydminster Curling Club)

Team Weppler: skip Bill Weppler, third Ken Rodgers, second Dan Stephens, lead Jim Loos (Highland Curling Club)



Women’s Team Rosters:

Team Campbell: skip June Campbell, third Deanne Miller-Jones, second Donna Ell, lead Sylvia Broad (Wadena Curling Club)

Team Deis: skip Donda Lee Deis, third Lorraine Arguin, second Kay Montgomery, lead Roberta Fonger (Moose Jaw Curling Centre)

Team Fernquist: skip Peggy Fernquist, third Linda Lund, second Brenda Walker, lead Heather Traves (Sutherland Curling Club)

Team Ford: skip Anita Ford, third Angie Watson, second Val Bailey, lead Betty Fornwald (Callie Curling Club)

Team Foster: skip Diane Foster, third Bev Krasowski, second Char Southam, lead Debbie Gillespie

Team Graham: (Lloydminster Curling Club)

Team Lacoursiere: skip Ada Lacoursiere, third Marilyn Wourms, second Norma Friesen, lead Joanne Wood (Sutherland Curling Club)

Team Streifel: skip Tracy Streifel, third Jan Betker, second Julie Vandenameele, lead Anita Silvernagle (Nutana Curling Club)

Team Swiderski: skip Jacquie Swiderski, third Avis Halcro, second, lead Marje Deschambeault, lead Kathy Mounce (Prince Albert Golf and Curling Club)

Team Zingel: skip Nola Zingel, third Cathy Cooper, second Olesia Latos, lead Sandee Pashniak (Lloydminster Curling Club)





On the women’s side, it was Team Campbell who went 3-1 through round robin play and secured their spot in the 2v2 game on Saturday night. They defeated Team Ford on Saturday night and faced off against Team Foster in the semi-final where they scored a 5 ender in the 5th end to take the lead and ultimately secure their 8-7 victory. In the final, it was a rematch against an undefeated Team Streifel who had previously beat them in round robin play. This time, it was Team Campbell who came out on top with a 7-4 victory and the provincial title!



In the men’s division, it was the reigning champions Team Humble who secured their back-to-back victory! After going 3-1 through round robin play, Team Humble had lost only 1 game to Team Lane. After Team Humble defeated Team Hritzuk 10-1 in the 2v2 game, they faced Team Lane again but this time Team Humble picked up the win to secure their spot in the final. At 3:00 on Championship Sunday, Team Humble played a strong game against Team Baber and came out with the Provincial title!



Team Campbell and Team Humble will represent Saskatchewan at the 2024 Canadian master’s Curling Championships in Saguenay, Quebec on April 7-13th! Congratulations to all the teams who competed on a great weekend!