2024 Viterra Scotties Recap

12 of the best competitive Women’s Curling teams in Saskatchewan qualified for the 2024 Viterra Scotties through CTRS points, Saskatchewan Women’s Curling Tour points, or through our last chance qualifier.

12 Viterra Scotties Tournament of Hearts Teams:

  1. Team Martin – skip Nancy Martin, third Lindsay Bertsch, second Madison Kleiter, lead Krysten Karwacki, coach Gerry Adam (Martensville Curling Club)
  2. Team Ackerman – skip Skylar Ackerman, third Ashley Thevenot, second Taylor Stremick, lead Kaylin Skinner, coach Patrick Ackerman (Nutana Curling Club)
  3. Team Englot – skip Stephanie Schmidt, third Sara England, second Ashley Williamson, lead Michelle Englot, coach Joan McCusker (Highland Curling Club)
  4. Team Orsted – skip Sherrilee Orsted, third Candace Newkirk, second Shalon Fleming, lead Jasmine Kerr, alternate Jade Kerr, coach Trevor Kerr (Moose Jaw Curling Club)
  5. Team Anderson – skip Sherry Anderson, third Patty Hersikorn, second Denise Hersikorn, lead Anita Silvernagle ( Nutana Curling Club
  6. Team Mitchell – skip Jessica Mitchell, third Jenna Hope, second Meaghan Frerichs, lead Michelle Johnson, coach Jim Wilson (Nutana Curling Club)
  7. Team Silvernagle – skip Robyn Silvernagle, third Kelly Schafer, second Chaelynn Kitz, lead Kara Thevenot (Twin Rivers Curling Club)
  8. Team Barker – skip Penny Barker, third Christie Gamble, second Jenna Enge, lead Danielle Sicinski, coach Mark Lang (Moose Jaw Curling Centre)
  9. Team Tisdale – skip Jana Tisdale, third Jade Bloor, third Chantel Martin, lead Carla Anaka (Highland Curling Club)
  10. Team Stevenson – skip Brooklyn Stevenson, third Breanne Knapp, second Callan Hamon, lead Nicole Bender (Highland Curling Club)
  11. Team Holland – skip Amber Holland, third Kim Schneider, second Jill Springer, lead Deb Lozinski, coach Travis Brown (Kronau Curling Club)
  12. Team Selzer – skip Mandy Selzer, third Erin Barnhart, second Megan Selzer, lead Sarah Slywaka, coach Ken Bakken (Balgonie Curling Club)


The event began on January 17th with pre-event practices as well as the opening ceremonies. At the opening ceremonies we heard from representatives.of the Tisdale host committee, the town of Tisdale, Viterra as well as CURLSASK President Helen Fornwald. On Friday after the morning draw, all the players, coaches, volunteers, and sponsors joined together for a meal and fellowship. Guest speaker Chris Getzlaf spoke to the attendees about his experience playing on the Saskatchewan Roughriders winning a grey cups and being named a CFL all-star.

In the playoffs, we saw Team Ackerman and Team Martin face off in the 1v1 game and Team Englot VS Team Barker in the 2v2 game. After 2 close games, it was Team Ackerman who got the pass into the final while Team Martin played Team Englot in Sunday mornings semi-final. The Semi-final was quite the battle between with Team Martin stealing 2 in the 10th end to tie and 2 more in the extra end to secure her teams spot in the final. It was a rematch of the 1v1 game where Team Ackerman faced Team Martin once again. Team Martin played an angle raise for 1 in the 10th end to tie the game and head into their second 11th end of the day. It was Skyler Ackerman with a perfect hit and stick to secure her first trip as a skip to the 2024 Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Calgary, Alberta on February 16-25.


Team Ackerman consists of skip Skylar Ackerman, third Ashley Thevenot, second Taylor Stremick, lead Kaylin Skinner, and coach Patrick Ackerman. They curl out of the Nutana Curling Club in Saskatoon.

Thank you to the Tisdale host committee, volunteers, ice makers, umpires, players, coaches, fans, Real Cast Media, and everyone else who made this event possible! Everyone’s hard work and dedication did not go unnoticed and we wouldn’t have had such a successful event without all your help!