Provincial Champions & Award Winners Crowned in Saskatoon on Monday!

Team Kleiter “Three-Peat” Complete

What a run it has been for Saskatoon Sutherland’s Team Kleiter over the last three Junior Provincial Men’s Championships!

You can now say the “three-peat” is complete for this foursome and their coach Dean Kleiter, as they defeated Sutherland counterparts Team Tyler Camm Monday afternoon in the provincial final.

The team will now represent Saskatchewan for the third year in a row at the New Holland Canadian Junior Championship, but this year will act as the home team up in Prince Albert January 22-27, 2019!

Along with this recent Junior Provincial win, Team Kleiter has had a remarkable season leading up to this event. They have qualified in two Sask Men’s Curling Tour finals in both Moose Jaw & Estevan. And they just announced that they will also be competing in the upcoming Grand Slam of Curling Canadian Open in North Battleford!

Congratulations gentlemen and good luck up in Prince Albert!

L-R: Rylan Kleiter (Skip), Trevor Johnson (Third), Dean Kleiter (Coach), Joshua Mattern (Second), Matthieu Taillon (Lead)

L-R: Sara England (Skip), Rachel Erickson (Third), Sarah Hoag (Second), Jade Goebel (Lead), Jamie Schneider (Coach)

Erickson Defeats Ackerman in Provincial Final

Team Erickson went on a wonderful run once dropping their opening game in Draw 1 Thursday evening against Team Martens of Moosomin. They then rallied five straight wins to secure them a spot into the 1 vs. 1 Page Playoff game defeating Team Emily Haupstein 10-9, where they then played the waiting game for Monday’s final.

Meanwhile, Team Skylar Ackerman out of the Moose Jaw Ford Curling Centre, kept their streak rolling as they recently came off a Canada Winter Games Provincial Trials win a few weeks prior! Ackerman came out of the 2 vs. 3 game stringing together three straight playoff victories to meet with Erickson for those green jackets.

Erickson never trailed in this one, but Ackerman made a game out of it coming down to the 9th & 10th ends only trailing 5-3! But it was Erickson running the team out of rocks claiming the championship!

Great news for Team Ackerman, as the finalists this year will earn the Host Team spot at the New Holland Canadian Juniors where Team Yukon will be unable to field a team!

Congratulations ladies and good luck up in Prince Albert!

2018-2019 Provincial Award Winners

Men’s All-Star Skip

Brayden Stewart ~ Team Stewart

Men’s All-Star Third

Trevor Johnson ~ Team Kleiter

Men’s All-Star Second

Joshua Mattern ~ Team Kleiter

Men’s All-Star Lead

Matthieu Taillon ~ Team Kleiter

Men’s Randy Woytowich Sportsmanship Award

Jared Latos ~ Team Stewart

Men’s All-Star Coach

Jim Wilson ~ Team Reddekopp

Curling Canada/Asham Coaches Award

Dean Kleiter ~ Team Kleiter

Committee Chair Volunteer Pin

Kerry Tarasoff ~ CommitteeChair

Women’s All-Star Skip

Madison Kleiter ~ Team Kleiter

Women’s All-Star Third

Renee Michaud ~ Team Englot

Women’s All-Star Second

Kaylin Skinner ~ Team Thevenot

Women’s All-Star Lead

Mary Engel ~ Team Thevenot

Women’s Joyce McKee Sportsmanship Award

Madison Johnson ~ Team Ackerman

Women’s All-Star Coach

James Malainey ~ Team Thevenot

Curling Canada/Asham Coaches Award

Brad Kennedy ~ Team Kleiter

Congratulations To All Recipients!

We want to thank Kerry & his amazing team of volunteers on a fantastic event held at the Sutherland Curling Club! Happy New Year Everyone!