Saskatchewan U18 Teams Ready to Return Home With Canadian Hardware

U18 Girls Finish With Silver Medal

What a rollercoaster ride it was for the U18 Girls Team from Moose Jaw at the 2018 Under-18 Canadian Girls Championship! Team Skylar Ackerman had a week to remember at their first national event, climbing all the way to the championship final!

Skylar, Madison, Chantel, Samantha & Coach Patrick went on a wonderful run come playoff time defeating defending champions Northern Ontario, British Columbia & Alberta en route to the Canadian final Saturday, where they then met up with Team Nova Scotia! All week long Ackerman and team were neck and neck with their opponents, with their only two losses coming by single point defeats. In the championship final, Saskatchewan found themselves again within one point heading into the final end, but it was Nova Scotia scoring their two claiming the gold medal.

Congratulations Team Saskatchewan on an amazing week as Canadian Silver Medalists!

L-R: Chantel Hoag & Madison Johnson (Photo, Curling Canada).

L-R: David Murphy, Jaycee Terrick & Braden Fleishhacker

Team Saskatchewan Boys Claim Mixed Doubles Hardware

It may not have been the ideal week for Team Bindig of Wadena had hoped for, as they were a shot here and there away from qualifying into the playoff round. But Team Saskatchewan looked to focus on the Mixed Doubles playoffs that were up for grabs with teams who did not qualify into the championship round.

Jayden, Nathan, Braden, Ethan & Coach Verne made an impressive showing through the Mixed Doubles competition. Braden along with his Manitoba teammate Jaycee Terrick of Dauphin claimed the gold medal at this years event along with their Prince Edward Island Coach David Murphy! Team Saskatchewan Coach Verne Anderson also made a wonderful run with his Mixed Doubles pairing, where they finished in third earning them a bronze medal! Congratulations Team Bindig on an awesome week at your first national event!

Team Saskatchewan Award Winners

The 2018 Under-18 Boys & Girls Canadian Curling Championship announced their award nominees at the conclusion of this years championship. Our very own Braden Fleicshhacker, Chantel Hoag & Patrick Ackerman were handed well deserved awards!

Braden Fleishhacker ~ Second’s Sportsmanship Award

Chantel Hoag ~ Fair Play Award (Handed out by Curling Canada Officials)

Patrick Ackerman ~ Coaches Sportsmanship Award

Congratulations you three on receiving awards at this years championship!



2018 Fair Play Award Winners (Photo, Curling Canada).

Braden & Patrick Showing off their Sportsmanship Awards.