2017-2018 CURLSASK Awards & Legends of Curling Inductees

CURLSASK and the Legends of Curling Committee continue to encourage curling clubs to nominate their valuable volunteers and stars of the game for the recognition they deserve and are pleased to announce this year’s deserving award recipients.

This year the Committee selected winners in four categories ranging from supporters and active volunteers to curling athletes. The six newest inductees to the Legends of Curling Honour Roll include two long term curling officials, two outstanding athletes of the game and two builders. As well, the Committee is pleased to welcome two Canadian Championship Teams! The 2018 CURLSASK Award winners were also selected and include a long term club volunteer and talented curling coach!

The Legends Committee is pleased to induct:

Matt Kaip & Ron Kidd – Curling Officials

Chris & Karen Pasterfield – Sponsors/Builders

Evelyn Krahn – Curler/Builder

Lee Weppler – Curler

2018 Canadian Senior Women’s Curling Champions ~Team Sherry Anderson

2018 Canadian Wheelchair Curling Champions ~Team Marie Wright

The Committee is also pleased to introduce:

Scotty Richardson Memorial Award ~Allan Hoag (Bengough)

2018 CURLSASK Coach/Junior Coordinator/Instructor Award ~Shane Kitz (Oxbow)

The Class of 2018!
All award recipients have one thing in common and that is their outstanding contribution to Curling in Saskatchewan!

Join us in congratulating this year’s honourees! All the Legends and CURLSASK Award recipients will be honoured on behalf of CURLSASK and the curling community of Saskatchewan at the annual CURLSASK Awards Gala being held April 28, 2018 at the Ramada Plaza in Regina.

Watch for more photos and complete bios of the Award winners on the CURLSASK website coming soon!

The Legends Committee would like to thank Curl Regina and Curl Saskatoon for their continued sponsorship each year and Harvey Craig, SCA Past President (1982-83) for his sponsorship of the Builder category.

About the Legends of Curling Honour Roll Committee

Since the committee’s formation in 2004, the CURLSASK Legends of Curling Honour Roll has recognized the best in Saskatchewan’s curling history. The Legends Committee, a volunteer group of Past Presidents of the Saskatchewan Curling Association (SCA) and Saskatchewan Ladies Curling Association (SLCA), meet twice a year to determine the award recognitions and helps to coordinate the CURLSASK Annual Gala Awards Evening.

CURLSASK would like to thank the Legends of Curling Committee of Jerry Shoemaker, Brian Hill, Liane McLean, Del Jones and Barry Whitehouse for their work over the past year and look forward to continuing to promote Award recognitions for the outstanding accomplishments of club volunteers and athletes alike in the years to come.