England & Kleiter Capture 2018 Jiffy Lube Junior Provincial Titles!

England Posts Undefeated Record to Capture Provincial Title

Team Sara England of the Regina Callie had a week to remember during the 2018 Jiffy Lube Junior Women’s Provincial Championship, and now are your newest members of Team Saskatchewan!

Playoff Sunday:

Semi-final Game ~The semi final game took place Sunday morning, as it was Kitz taking on Team Hanna Anderson of Saskatoon. A tight game all the way through up until the 7th end, where it was Kitz leading by a score of 4-3. The turning point in this one was a huge score of three by Kitz in the 8th that would lead them to the 7-5 win and a rematch with England in the provincial final.

Final Game ~England and team had a fantastic final making great shots when it mattered the most, as they scored four deuces (two point ends) in the game, while holding Kitz to only one multiple score end. England took the final by a score of 8-4 running Kitz out of rocks in the 10th and final end.

Congratulations to Team England as they will represent Saskatchewan at the 2018 New Holland Canadian Junior Women’s Curling Championships in Shawinigan, Quebec starting January 13-21, 2018! Good luck girls!

Action between members of teams Engand & Kitz during the provincial final game.

Rylan Kleiter (front) calling line as Shawn Vereschagin looks on.

Kleiter’s Streak Climbs to 14 Straight at Provincial Championships

An unbelievable run Team Kleiter out of the Saskatoon Sutherland Curling Club have had during these past two seasons at the Jiffy Lube Junior Provincial Men’s Championship! After losing the final to eventual Canadian finalist Jacob Hersikorn back in 2015, Kleiter has one every game at the Junior Provincial Championship since then. An unbelievable accomplishment as they will look to keep the streak alive at next years championship!!

A2vsB2 Playoff Game:The Shawn Vereschagin rink, after a tiebreak win over Team Brecklin Gervais Saturday evening, kept their hot streak rolling against Team Mitchell Dales of Regina. As it was Vereschagin needing a nose hit in the 10th and final end to pick up the 7-6 win.

Semi-final Game: After a tough loss from Brayden Stewart in the A1vsB1 against Kleiter, Stewart met up with Vereschagin in the semi-final game. This one was all locked up at 3-3 before Shawn Vereschagin made an amazing runback double takeout to leave five of his red stones as counters, where Vereschagin eventually ran Stewart out of stones to take the 8-6 win.

Final Game: It was an all Saskatoon Sutherland battle Sunday evening as the final got underway, but it was all Kleiter in this one picking up right where they left off leading 4-1 after six ends, which would lead them to the 8-2 victory!

Congratulations to Team Kleiter as they will join Team England in Shawinigan and represent Saskatchewan at the 2018 New Holland Canadian Junior Men’s Curling Championships January 13-21, 2018! Good luck boys!

U21 Mixed Doubles Competition

The first ever U21 Mixed Doubles Competition also wrapped up Sunday afternoon at the Regina Callie. A single knockout format was played involving the curlers who were unable to qualify for the playoff rounds, who competed in a friendly competition of mixed doubles play!

When it was all said and done, it was Jade Goebel of Team Erickson & Cody Sutherland of Team Sutherland taking on Makena Simmons of Team S. Ackerman & Tyson Williamson of Team Williamson in the final game. A great game by both teams came down to the final inch as Makena just missed a double takeout with the final rock of the game, securing the win for Goebel/Sutherland.

We want to thank the curlers and parents for sticking around Saturday/Sunday to take part in this up and coming format of curling, where it will make its Olympic debut come February in Pyeongchang, South Korea!

Thank you to CURLSASK’s High Performance Director Pat Simmons for organizing and running the event both days!!

Mixed Doubles Final ~ (left to right) Tyson Williamson, Makenna Simmons, Jade Goebel & Cody Sutherland

2018 Award Winners

Junior Men’s:

All-Star Skip: Rylan Kleiter
All-Star Third: Trevor Johnson
All-Star Second: Jared Latos
All-Star Lead: Dallas Burnett
Sportsmanship Award: Sam Wills
Coach’s Award: Dean Kleiter

Junior Women’s:

All-Star Skip: Chaelynn Kitz
All-Star Third: Rikki Schick

All-Star Second: Stasia Wisniewski
All-Star Lead: Jasmine Kerr
Sportsmanship Award: Renee Michaud
Coach’s Award: Brad Kennedy