Busy Weekend for Sask Curlers in the Queen City

Team Deis Books Ticket Into SaskTel Tankard

The Ryan Deis rink out of the Fox Valley Curling Club went undefeated en route to claiming the Saskatchewan Men’s Curling Tour spiel this past weekend at the Regina Highland Curling Club. Team Deis defended their title in fashion as they were last years champions at this very same event.

With the win, Team Deis has now received a direct berth into the 2018 SaskTel Tankard Men’s Provincial Championship, which will take place January 31 – February 4 at Affinity Place in Estevan.

The next SCT Bonspiel will take place down in Estevan Dec. 1-3, where there will be another direct berth into provincials up for grabs!

Fox Valley Curling Club’s Team Ryan Deis

Saskatoon’s Team Ashley Thevenot

Regina Callie Hosts Junior Men’s & Women’s Q-Spiel #1

There were no short of curlers and curling fans around the Regina Callie Curling Club over this long weekend, as 21 Junior Men’s & 18 Junior Women’s teams went head to head looking to claim one of eight available berths into the Jiffy Lube Junior Provincial Curling Championship Dec. 27-31, 2017.

The Junior Men’s & Women’s fields featured past U18 & Junior Champions looking to regain those green and white jackets and represent Saskatchewan at this years New Holland Canadian Junior Curling Championship, but also young and upcoming teams looking to gain crucial Winter Games Points into the selection process towards the 2019 Canada Winter Games.


Below are the teams who punched their ticket into the Jiffy Lube Provincial Championship back at the Regina Callie late December:

Junior Men’s:

Team Jayden Bindig – Wadena
Team Rylan Kleiter – Saskatoon
Team Travis Tokarz – Saskatoon
Team Mitchell Dales – Regina

Junior Women’s:

Team Tegan Zankl – Regina
Team Chaelynn Kitz – Saskatoon
Team Sara England – Regina
Team Hanna Anderson – Saskatoon

Congratulations to all teams who qualified, and good luck to the remaining teams as Q-Spiels #2 get underway next weekend, Nov. 24-26, in Watrous (Men’s) & Wadena (Women’s).

Junior Men’s Day Two Action