Day 2 Wrap-Up at SaskTel Tankard

Laycock & Casey to Meet in A-Event Final

Thursday night provided nothing but great shot making and tight matches to decide who would battle it out tomorrow afternoon for that first qualifying spot in this years SaskTel Tankard Men’s Provincial. Our first semi-final saw defending provincial champion Steve Laycock take on fellow Saskatoon rink in Kody Hartung. This was a back and forth contest witnessing clutch and precise shot making by both sides. A late deuce in the 8th end and a great draw in the 10th sealed the deal for Laycock and took this one 5-4 over Hartung. Adam Casey and his rink out of the Regina Highland went “toe-to-toe” with Dale Craig of the Saskatoon Nutana in our other A semi-final game. Tied up heading into both the 5th end break and the 10th end, it was Casey who had an open hit for a deuce and the win in the final end to take it and meet Laycock tomorrow in the A-Event final.

Team Hartung – Kelly Knapp (left), & Kody Hartung (right)

Team Casey – Catlin Schneider (third)

Friday is a big day here in Tisdale as we have a four-day draw on our hands, with Draw 6 beginning bright and early tomorrow morning at 8 a.m.

Photo Credit:Devan C. Tasa/Tisdale Recorder

Bitz & Gedak Pick Up Two-Win Days

Scott Bitz of Saskatoon and Brent Gedak out of Estevan both dropped their opening games last night falling into the B Event. But today was a different story for both squads looking to rebound from a loss and follow it up with wins to get them back on track. Bitz seemed to be rolling in both of his games as he only needed six ends in each match to get the wins and move him along, with an 8-0 win over Jason Ackerman and a 7-2 win tonight over Drew Heidt. Brent Gedak, who dropped his opener to Brad Heidt, again won back to back convincing matches to Ryan Armstrong of Lashburn 9-5, and Ryan Deis of Fox Valley 7-2 in tonight’s game. Bitzwill now face the A semi team dropping down (Hartung), and Gedak will take on Craig falling from the other A semi.

Team Bitz – Dean Kleiter (left), & Aryn Schmidt (right)