Field Now Set for 2017 Viterra Scotties Women's Provincial Championship!

Martin, Lawton, & Selzer Earn Final Berths

This past weekend was the last chance for all women’s teams looking to join the nine team field at this year’s Viterra Scotties Provincial Championship. The 2017 Viterra “Last Chance” Qualifier took place at the Regina Highland Curling Club, with 12 teams battling it out to earn one of the final three spots. The winner of each of the three events (A, B, & C) would be able to clinch a spot in Melville for the provincial. Let us take a look at how the weekend panned out.

2017 Viterra “Last Chance”

Team Nancy Martin (Saskatoon Nutana Curling Club) strung togetherthree straight wins and an eventual A Event final win with an 8-6 victory over the Breanne Meakin rink out of the Regina Highland Curling Club. Meakin jumped out to a 4-0 lead after three ends of play, but it was Martin who stormed back and picked up a huge four points in the 8th end to seal the victory and that first berth into provincials.

CongratulationsTeam Nancy Martin!

Skip: Nancy Martin
Third: Ashley Quick
Second: Meaghan Frerichs
Lead: Teresa Waterfield
Coach: Brian Champion

Saskatoon Nutana Curling Club

With that, Meakin then dropped down into the B semi final, where she defeated Team Kaitlin Corbin (Regina Callie Curling Club). Meakin took a 6-1 victory in this one, leading her squad into the B final against Team Stefanie Lawton of the Saskatoon Nutana. With fairly new squads for both Lawton and Meakin coming into this years competitive season, it was Lawton who jumped out to an early 3-0 lead after the first end, and carried on to an 8-3 victory grabbing that second spot in the provincial championship.

Congratulations Team Lawton!

Skip: Stefanie Lawton
Third: Beth Iskiw
Second: Sherri Singler
Lead: Jessica Iles
Coach: Rick Folk

Saskatoon Nutana Curling Club

Meanwhile in the C Event, Team Lorraine Arguin out of the Moose Jaw Ford Curling Centre rattled off three straightwins to allow her one win away from that final spot. She met up with Team Mandy Selzer (Balgonie Curling Club) who defeated Meakin in the C semi final 7-3. So it was Arguin and Selzer hitting the ice late Sunday afternoon to decide that final spot.This gamekept the crowd at the Highland on the edge of their seats the whole way through. A classic back and forth match-up leading into the the 7th end where we saw Selzer holding on to a 5-4 lead. Then with back to back steals, Selzer found herself with a 7-4 edge heading into the 10th end. But Arguin had other plans, with a huge score of 3 to force this one into an extra end. But Selzer used that last rock to her advantage and scored her single point to secure the win, and that final berth.

Congratulations Team Selzer!

Skip: Mandy Selzer
Third: Erin Selzer
Second: Megan Selzer:
Lead: Sarah Slywka
Coach: Ken Bakken

Balgonie Curling Club

2017 Viterra Scotties Women’s Provincial Championship Teams

Team Brett Barber – Biggar Curling Club
Team Penny Barker – Moose Jaw Ford Curling Centre
Team Chantelle Eberle – Regina Callie Curling Club
Team Kim Schneider – Kronau Curling Club
Team Stefanie Lawton – Saskatoon Nutana Curling Club
Team Nancy Martin – Saskatoon Nutana Curling Club
Team Robyn Silvernagle – North Battleford Twin Rivers Curling Club
Team Sherry Anderson – Saskatoon Nutana Curling Club
Team Mandy Selzer – Balgonie Curling Club

For full team lineups, clickhere.

For 2017 Viterra Scotties Provincial Draw, clickhere.